Come For the Wake Up With “End of Ze World” Blog, Stay For the eBaum’s World Nostalgia

“Hokay”, I have no idea why this video was so popular but we watched and quoted it nonstop in college. It’s weird because it’s funny, but it’s not really funny if that makes any sense.. which I think maybe makes it overall funnier? Like, it’s so stupid and we can’t figure out why or if it’s actually funny, so that’s the humor in it? Am I overthinking this? I dunno maybe we were just always drunk and at that point the internet wasn’t just filled with funny shit to watch and read all day. That’s probably closer to the correct answer than my first hypothesis.

eBaum’s World was a must visit every day after class. First you had to change your AIM status back from whatever kickass away message you had up about “sleeping through another class” hurr hurr hurr, then you went straight to eBaum’s World while you ate whatever you brought back from the dining hall’s carry out menu. I was always partial to the chicken fingers and steak fries. That’s not really important to the point I’m trying to make about the videos, but it seemed like something you should know. There was no time to be wasted by sitting in dining hall when there were funny internet videos to watch, which I understand seems silly coming from me seeing as I’ve been wasting valuable page space rambling on about chicken fingers and sides of BBQ sauce when in the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter and you’ve probably already stopped reading by now.

Anyway, it was the best place to see funny videos and what I guess you would call “viral” back in 2004 before all of the Twitters and other social media sites started to ramp up. eBaum’s World is still around but sadly it’s a shell of itself and chances are if you see a video on their site, you’ve already seen it passed around on Twitter or Instagram. Ironically, the best place to watch some of the all-time eBaum’s World videos these days is YouTube. Do yourself a favor and check out some of the GI Joe videos. Just search “GI Joe PSA eBaums World” on YouTube. They’re all there and they’re short enough that you can run through most of them during your morning poop. Maybe save a couple for your post-coffee poop at 10:30 just so you have something to look forward to.

If you’re unfamiliar with the GI Joe PSA videos, some internet pioneers took the old GI Joe PSAs that were at the end of the cartoon show and did voice overs to make them hilariously stupid. Sometimes they made some sort of sense and other times they were just pure nonsense, which was the genius in all of it. We watched the shit outta these when we lived in the dorms and it’s sadly been a long time since I’ve gone back and watched all of them. That was, until Kate from Barstool Sports posted her own version on TikTok last night.

Perfection. Pork chop sandwiches. *chef’s kiss*

Anywho, thanks for checking out my ramblings about a website that you had probably never heard of unless you’re in your 30s like us, on a website you had probably never heard of because I only get about 20-50 hits a day. But now’s not the time for a pity party. You have a lot of catching up on GI Joe PSAs to do.

Shit, I actually had you here on my blog and I just turned around and sent you packing to YouTube.. Like they need the clicks.

Im An Idiot GIFs | Tenor

Go enjoy the videos. I can’t in good conscience try to keep you here when I know there’s internet greatness on the other side for you. Just know that you owe me a few clicks next time you see something posted. I wrote down your name, so don’t think you can skate on this one.

I’ll close this out and put us all out of our misery by asking one simple question.

Who wants… a body massage?

Looking back, that’s kinda creepy, huh?

EDITOR’S NOTE: I realize the blog was to encourage you watch the “End of Ze World” video and I spent 95% talking about the GI Joe videos and directing you away from my website where you *might* have clicked around and read a few more blogs, and for that I’m sorry. Unfortunately, it’s not our policy to issue refunds so I’m keeping your internet click dollar. Them’s the breaks, kid.

Leave a comment